Dragon Testing

At this level students learn pad work, self-defense, sparring techniques, kicking techniques and forms basics. Testing ensures that the student knows and executes these skills to attain ever higher belt levels in preparation to progression to the Traditional Program.


Advancement is based upon a combination of attendance and the demonstration of specific martial arts skills.

At each belt level a minimum of 3 classes and instructor approval is required to obtain a black stripe. When the 5th and final black stripe is received for a particular level at least 3 additional classes are required. At this point the student has attended 15-20 classes.

If the instructor feels that the student has demonstrated the required skills and is ready for the next level, permission will be given for the student to test.

The student will then receive a Belt Testing Form that explains test fees, scheduling, etc. The form should be completed and submitted with the test fee payment to the classroom administrator or any instructor before or during class (not at the end).

Testing is usually scheduled for immediately after class.

Karate Belt Ranking and Stripe Requirement

Advanced White Belt

  • Beginner rank, no requirements for an Advanced White Belt.

Purple Stripe BeltRajeev with newly awarded certificate for red striped belt

  • Five (5) black stripes as either a Blue Stripe or Advanced White Belt.

Brown Stripe Belt

  • Five (5) black stripes as a Purple Stripe Belt.

Red Stripe Belt

  • Five (5) black stripes as a Brown Stripe Belt.

Black Stripe Belt

  • Five (5) black stripes as a Red Stripe Belt.

Yellow Belt

  • Five (5) black stripes as a Black Stripe Belt.

Program Progression

Students who have earned a yellow belt are automatically entered into the Traditional Program.  The yellow belt earned as a Dragon is identical to the yellow belt earned by traditional karate students.  Note, however, that the requirements for a yellow belt earned as a Dragon may differ from the requirements for a yellow belt earned entirely through the Traditional Program; Dragon students need only satisfy the Dragon requirements listed above.